• School Closings/Delays:

    Tate County Schools will be closed until April 17th.  School offices will accept calls starting Wednesday from 8-12.  Check website for any upcoming information.  

Close alert
student coloring

Welcome to the Tate County Schools District website!

Welcome to the Tate County Schools District website. The Tate County School District is dedicated to developing the whole child. Our county school system consists of Independence High School, East Tate Elementary, Coldwater Elementary School, Coldwater High School, Strayhorn Elementary, Strayhorn High School, and the Tate County Career and Technical Center.  

We have a dedicated staff of administrators, teachers, and support personnel who strive every day to put children first. It is an honor and privilege to work with and alongside these dedicated professionals and staff. We are very fortunate to have tremendous community support for our schools. Without this support it would be virtually impossible to achieve success.

It is the mission of Tate County Schools to prepare ALL students to be college and career ready and develop a lifelong love for learning.

Latest News

TCSD Teachers Miss Their Students

TCSD Teachers Miss their kids

TCSD Grab and Go Lunch Program

Details about grab and go lunch

Superintendent Search

District Spotlight

District Teacher of the Year


The honor of our SES 2019-2020 teacher of the year goes to our beloved Second Grade Teacher, Sandra Moyer. Sandra is a mentor to her colleagues and is known for her kindness and her gentle way of leading her students to grow academically and personally each time she is with them. 

Sandra Moyer - Teacher of the Year



Mission Statement

"Together, there is no limit to what we can achieve"